Playful Visualizations at Work, Working Visualizations at Play

As stated in my introduction, my first goal is to create a “pretty” visualization.  Many of the beautiful, artistic, and moving visualizations or representations (as some are musical, so therefore not exclusively seen), seem utterly unconnected to the text until you read the blurb that the artist provides telling you that each word type of a text  was assigned a specific color, or that each sequence of verb tenses represent different notes in a song.

I like these types of adaptations, however, I’m not sure how I can make one work for an entire novel like La tumba (despite the fact that it is a short novel).  Also, a problem that I’ve had in the past is that many of the tools I want to use don’t work with a Spanish text.

Recently, I’ve been checking out the tool history flow.  I like the images that it creates because it reminds me of the happy and brightly colored designer woven prints by Missoni.  Just imagine the possibilities if I could somehow print my visualization of La tumba  on fabric and wear it as a scarf or skirt.  I think it would take my dedication to the project up a notch.  At the next conference, not only would I be presenting with some cool visualizations, but also creating a fashion statement:  two birds with one stone.

Goals for the week:  see if I can get this tool working for me, because a novel is different then a wiki, and with out many edits, my cool weave would probably not be as colorful or complicated.  Perhaps I could map the edits on my work on La tumba? (note that I’m saving the “useful” visualization for later, as it seems more fun to start with the “pretty” one)

Questions to the dear readers:  Has anyone used a neat visualization tool that works with texts in Spanish?  Perhaps you would like to share a beautiful visualization to act as inspiration for my quixotic quest to create a purely “pretty” visualization.  (you know, “art for art’s sake”)

 

Comments on: "eye of the beholder…" (1)

  1. claireihle said:

    As I’ve continued delving into the “history” of the History Flow tool, I’ve found that I’m not the only one who made the history flow/missoni link! Although I hadn’t seen this post (written 2 years ago) before I wrote my post, I thought I’d add a link since apparently, great minds think alike.

    http://styleinspades.com/2010/03/25/moma-pictures/

    News flash: it’s really hard to be original these days.

Leave a Reply

